1. We are pleased to announce the 'Home Automation' forum. Click here to get involved!

Vaillant Turbomax plus 828e F28 lockout code

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Amplegirthage, 21 Feb 2004.

  1. Amplegirthage

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi I have just found this great site.. Any ideas on this problem. I have a Vaillant turbomax plus 828E Combi. I Powered it off today While replacing a sink, Water was turned off and drained down. After refilling the system and powering on, the boiler shows Error Code F28. This relates to gas supply or ignition. The Sparker is sparking Ok. But it appears to be getting no gas. The gas supply is ok in the rest of the house.

    If you press reset it tries to ignite 3 times then F28!
    Please help its staurday night and its cold!! :(
     
  2. CH4

    CH4

    Joined:
    15 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    120
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If the gas supply to the boiler was turned off then it is possible that there could be air in the boiler's gas pipework. If this is the case, then the boiler will not light until the air is purged (repeatedly trying to re-light the boiler may achieve this).
     
  3. Amplegirthage

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Gas fitter has been twice so far.. tried a new gas valve. Not that!! tried a new control board which spontaneously combusted.. OOPS!! gone away to get more parts..
    The moral of this story never assume a gas fitter knows your particular boiler or indeed what he's doing.
    We live in hope !
     
  4. breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,326
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you really want a heating engineer, not a gas fitter
     
  5. Amplegirthage

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Second "heating engineer" arrived wednesday. took a look and said let me take your manual so I can ring Vaillant.. Never been seen again..So tomorrow im off to buy the parts required from hrpc and im going to fix it myself.
    After a bit of basic electronic testinga nd one call to Vaillant it turns out the fault is caused by the gas valve cable going short and burning out the relay on the board.
    So their you have it F28 code = new board and a cable £200 thankyou and goodnight.. I will never pick up the phone again for a Heating engineer.
     
  6. DIWHY99

    Joined:
    9 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had an F28 fault code on my Vialliant boiler about three months ago. According to the manual an F28 fault code can be one of about six or seven different things; including insufficient gas and ignition problems.

    I called out a registered engineer and he tested for all the possible problems listed. Everything was fine. The only thing that my engineer could think of that might not be working well (even though it tested fine on firing up) was the ignition. He changed the electrode (which is a component that includes the ignition and monitoring electrode) and the boiler has been working fine since. I'm not saying that this will fix your problem if you have an F28 but I didn't see this solution listed on the net when I had the fault and it cured mine.

    Best of luck
     
  7. Bunnyman

    Joined:
    22 Mar 2010
    Messages:
    4,536
    Thanks Received:
    1,437
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ur 6 years to late mate check the date lol
     
  8. DIWHY99

    Joined:
    9 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Bunnyman, but I can read dates :) (I see you've been thanked 36 times so take this as 37 ;)) I actually wanted to reply to a later F28 thread that I saw here when I first had my problem but I couldn't find it again. So I just thought, what the heck, I might as well reply to any F28 thread I can find and anyone who searches for it will see my reply as the latest likely solution.
     
  9. Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    55,550
    Thanks Received:
    3,655
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You may be able to read dates but you dont seem able to read how many times Bunny has been thanked if you say its just 36.

    At the time of writing thats visible to me as 61 times. But it will increment as he gets further thanks.

    You only add to his thanks score by pressing the "thanks" button!

    Tony
     
  10. DIWHY99

    Joined:
    9 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What is up with people on here? First Bunnyman has an assumptive go at me for "not" reading dates and now you lump on, totally oblivious to the fact that it was obviously just 36 WHEN I posted. Anyway, as you have both been thanked loads of times, I can only hope most of your other posts are more constructive. A happy and less pedantic holiday to you all.
     

Share This Page