Walk in shower coverage

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm looking at renovating the bathroom and there is an alcove in the bathroom which looks the perfect size for a separate shower to go in.

I'm thinking about going for a walk in shower enclosure, but I'm not sure about how much coverage the opposite side of the shower should have.

Attached a picture of what I'm thinking. It would be a 120 x 80 cm shower base with a 90cm fixed glass panel and a 30cm swing deflector. My concern is the short area of wall. This is 33cm long as is and I'm not sure that this would be enough to stop water from splashing out of the shower, even with the deflector panel as I have no experience of these types of shower.

In terms of the shower itself, we're planning a thermostatic mixer powered off the hot water system (unvented) through a drenching shower head.

Would there be a better arrangement for the glass? I'm not sure about fitting a swing glass to the short bit of wall as it might get swung into the door and I'm wanting to keep good access (according to the manufacturer, 50cm should be okay).

I've no experience of these types of showers so I'm not sure how much spray is going to be generated.

Any help gratefully received.

Circle shows approximate position of the shower head.
gk2dtU0.jpg

gk2dtU0
There is a dark line that shows roughly the extent of the swivel glass moving in to the shower to stop spray.

liNCoOS.jpg

liNCoOS

Sponsored Links
for example all depends how high or where shower head positioned i have a 1700x900 shower tray with cieling mounted head about 1000 from the open any closer then i would need a screen

I
Would there be a better arrangement for the glass? I'm not sure about fitting a swing glass to the short bit of wall as it might get swung into the door and I'm wanting to keep good access (according to the manufacturer, 50cm should be okay).

liNCoOS.jpg

liNCoOS
Is it possible to hang the bathroom door so it opens out ?