wallpaper has srunk ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi im new here and need some help plz

i finished papering yesterday and it looked good when i got up this morning i could c the wall cuming through the seems in places?

is they anything i can do to fix it ?

cheers chez x

Sponsored Links
Only re-do it I'm afraid, the paper swells when you apply the paste, hence why should should leave the paper a while to let it swell, then when you butt the paper up, you should very slightly overbutt it so that the seam forms a small ridge, then when the paper dries, the ridge will flatten.

Also top tip in future, if the paper is coloured, use a crayon of as similar colour to the paper a s possible, abd crayon the ends of the roll.

Sorry, but now it's dried theres nothing you can do about the paper, is it possible to mask the seems ?

sorry im new to this decorating ?

what do u mean mask the seems ?

thanks

Well, it really depends on the paper / wall underneath, but I suppose you could try to somehow visually mask the seem by putting some sort of filler in them, but it sounds like a horrible bodge, and I don't rate it's chances. Wait for Zamps, he'll know, but I'm not hopeful for you. :(

Sponsored Links
ok thanks for yr help

p.s. would u advise me to strip the bodged paper first before trying it again ?

thanks

:confused: