Want to Wireless on a Worcester 24CDi RSF

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

HELP! :LOL:

OK, back to being sensible, First of all I am an engineer but have very little knowledge of electrics or Central heating wiring so please bear with me.

I have a Worcester 24 CDi RSF boiler that has the Worcester digital timer clock/programmer in the front fascia, I believe the part no for this is 77161920030. If I understand correctly to provide temp control to this I have an external thermostat wired into what is know as 'ST8' on the boilers connections. This basic setup works well with the exception that my thermostat is right by my front door and the temp control is very poor over the system as a result. I would like to move the thermostat into my living room at a very minimum but a change to a 7 day programmer would be great. Obviously this will now have to go wireless because of wiring problems.

OK I thought this would be a simple job to just purchase any Wireless thermostat/programmer and wire this into the 'ST8' connection on my boiler and just switch the old worcester contoller over to contiuous mode for the new controller to take control...with me so far?

Now, this where I fall over... the wiring. The ST8 wiring connection has four terminals.... Ns..Ls..Lr..Spare. According to the Worcester instructions the thermostat I have connected should be (but I have not checked yet)..Ns= neutral, Ls=Live, Lr=Switched live, Spare=nothing in it.