What am I doing wrong?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey guys.

I'm trying to wire a new class 1 light in the kitchen. The light that was removed was double insulated and therefore was not grounded. The new one needs grounding, but I'm a noob at this and not sure I've got the wiring correct. (See diagram)

I have tried to follow the wiring diagrams on here as best I can without success.

I have move the ground from wire 4 and connected them to the other earth wires in the first choc block. Then connected another earth cable from choc block 1 to choc block 2, then from that to the wire. This seems to have worked however all of the lights are now flickering so obviously not!

Cheers

James

Sponsored Links
Wow. Well, it could work if the yellow is the return switch wire but -

why do a red and blue disappear out the top?

If your new light is an LED and it is flickering this suggests you have lost the neutral and it is the capacitance of the earth lead that is providing a high impedance "neutral". May I suggest you either draw a clearer diagram of the EXACT wiring or provide a high resolution in-focus photograph.

Wow. Well, it could work if the yellow is the return switch wire but -

why do a red and blue disappear out the top?

Good question, but one which I can't answer I'm afraid. I have no idea.

If your new light is an LED and it is flickering this suggests you have lost the neutral and it is the capacitance of the earth lead that is providing a high impedance "neutral". May I suggest you either draw a clearer diagram of the EXACT wiring or provide a high resolution in-focus photograph.

The new light is not LED it uses capsule bulbs. Also, it's not just the light itself that is flickering it's through the entire house (bungalow). I have now removed the light but the flickering hasn't stopped, so I'm thinking it's possibly a loose connection in the choc?

I have taken some pictures, hopefully you can make some sense out of them!

Cheers

image1 (1).JPG