What has god wrought? Changing TRV bases.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I had a problem, very plain to see, the floor under my cistern was failing, so I found a pair of tradesmen one a plumber the other a chippy to correct the problem, there were more issues, the boiler needed either a non return valve or motorised valves as one could not select either granny flat or main house independently as the pump from one would force flow in reverse for other, so could not turn off either.

Wiring not a problem, I am an electrical engineer use to PLC control circuits so central heating a doodle. But pipe work was some thing else, OK I piped up my old central heating but 8 mm and 10 mm pipe was very different to 22 mm, so I engaged the pair to also sort out the central heating plumbing.

And while they were at it, also had a problem with a shower, the tray looked cracked so seemed good idea to get that changed as well.

Also a problem with floor in bedroom so add that to list.

Well all went well in June, until shower was looked at, it was found rotten timbers so what should have been simple became a major job, the plumber had persuaded me to swap all TRV's as he said at their age they would be likely troublesome. He arrived with 14 new TRV's and two new zone valves, plus a by-pass valve.

But these were not fitted as run out of time, and clearly the rotten timbers were far more important. He also said he knew of a good guy to service my boiler, and promised to return with him to finish the job.

The chippy went on a long holiday, and the plumber put his back out, so it was delay after delay, he said he wanted the heating engineer to come at same time as him doing other work, so finally this Thursday all three arrived.