What is a check valve - instructions for Trevi Boost

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have been reading the instructions for installing a Trevi Boost shower.
It says that it's essential to fit check valves on both hot and cold supplies,
to prevent crossflow. It also says to fit as far upstream as possible.

What does the Check Valve do, are they talking about preventing backflow? And does upstream mean nearer the shower end. (sorry if that's a stupid question)

Thanks

Wolfboy

Sponsored Links
Yes, check valves are to prevent backflow.

Is the wording as far upstream or just upstream? Upstream does mean before the shower.

yes -backflow protection,

and upstream :confused: I would have though as far downstream as possible (closer to the outlet-i.e.shower) nut i may be wrong (i am an apprentice so seek further advice to confirm!)

BTW - they only allow the water to flow in one direction ;)

Sponsored Links
A 22mm one on the HW side might be better - lower resistance. Do use a SINGLE cv though as bster indicated.

A little ambiguous.

I would interpret as far upstream as possible as being close to source (tank)

But I would interpret as close upstream as possible to mean being close to the shower on the upstream side...

Do the chinese/russian instructions make more sense?

Thanks for all your, I will check upstream bit with the maufactuer.

Anyone know a way of checking the mains pressure without using a meter, which I assume would mean spliting the pipe work?

wolfboy said:
Anyone know a way of checking the mains pressure without using a meter
You can measure it with a bottle of wine. Simply give the wine to a neighbour and ask them to do it. :D

...which I assume would mean spliting the pipe work?
You can get adaptors to attach a meter to a garden tap or to a kitchen tap.

For anyone fitting the Trevi Boost I have checked with the manufacturer and the term
'as close upstream as possible'

means as close to Shower Head as possible.