What should i do ? - Rights of an apprentice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am a 3rd year apprentice plumber working for a very small Ltd Company. and to be honest i feel trapped.

I am Contracted to 39 Hours a week

i normally work 45 - 50

i know there is "seemingly" no such thing as compulsory overtime but i dont get left with much choice as the "job needs to be finished" so he says

i dont mind doing my bit, but when your doing full bathroom renovations totally yourself for less than 7 quid an hour you dont feel like being generous with your time

i just feel that with the current building downturn i would struggle to get anything better.

i know that the previous apprentices' life was made hell after he rocked the boat, things got so bad he eventually left.

just want to pull my hair out To be honest

i Have 13 months until i am time served,

What are my options?

Sponsored Links
You option is to think back to before you had a trade and appreciate the fact that this company has invested in you, its called pay back time! thats the way of the world.

I do agree. to some extent,

i do appreciate the chance i have been given
i work almost totally unsupervised - what i mean by that is i normally i am the only person on a job, from beginning to end, I Can ask for advice, but thats it.

It is a good Company to work for, in the respect that the trust me to do all the work, But i feel that I do a high standard of work and deal with alot of pressure.

I was considering asking for more money

I was considering asking for more money

good luck.

if i were you i'd ask but if he started getting arsey about it i'd do my time and see what he does at the end of it. if he wants to keep you on and you are not happy with the terms i'd walk. no point in staying just for security alone IMO.

Sponsored Links