Which is the best reasonably priced humidity extractor?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi can somebody guide me to best humidity extractor to buy please? It’s for our kitchen/dining room which is L-shaped. Kitchen is about 6m long and 2.6m wide with dinning bit being end part of that and about 5.6m x 3.8m.

We are hoping to renew the kitchen in the next couple of years but for the moment we have an extractor over the hob which has a filter but does not go to the outside (to be changed when we do the kitchen). We have trickle vents on some of the windows and it gets a bit humid in there when my wife cooks; she likes to cook a fair bit.

I would like to fit a humidity extractor (I am a retired electrical engineer). I prefer one that has a plane plate at the front instead of visible grills for looks if there is a good one. I’ve watched online videos of plenty that look nice but don’t actually shift much air. I would like one of the very low wattage virtually silent ones if possible that does do a good job.

This extractor is to be fitted over the side access door we have, it won’t be the main kitchen extractor; I will fit a new one over the new hob to extract to the outside when we renew the kitchen in a couple of years so this extractor is more for the dining room end of the kitchen to reduce the humidity build up.

So what is the best one/make etc., preferably one that you fit and forget about?

On reading up it seems there is more chance of having problems if I buy a humidity controlled fan compared to the ones that come on with the lights etc. I read stuff about them not coming on at all after a few months and some that never stopped. Is there a nice looking quiet reliable one I could buy?

Any help appreciated.

Sponsored Links