Which liability insurance?

Mine is £165 a year for £5M PLI, £50K PII, and £1K tools cover

Sponsored Links
Why am I being so ripped off then?! :confused:
Are you chaps insured to work on bespoke machinery eg inside machine panels and to make modifications to them etc?
This is my first year of having cover, does it go down like car insurance does if you don't claim?

Sponsored Links
When did car insurance go down,
AIUI if you are a new driver the price of insurance for you starts out extremely high and then gradually reduces as you become a more experianced driver and (hopefully) build a no-claims bonus.

Eventually of course you reach a bottom and it starts going up as the general price of insurance goes up.

Why am I being so ripped off then?! :confused:
Are you sure that chalk isn't being compared with cheese? As has been pointed out, the indemnity element (which not all people may need or have) is likely to be much more expensive than the PLI. That's true in virtually all professions.

Kind Regards, John

As has been pointed out, the indemnity element (which not all people may need or have) is likely to be much more expensive than the PLI. That's true in virtually all professions.
I have never been able to get to the bottom of why indemnity insurance is much more expensive than PLI. When PLI was for £2m and indemnity £250k.
I raised this a number of times with my insurer and the answer I got back was that you are giving your professional opinion for Electrical Installation Condition Reports and general advice to customers.
I contended that each time I gave a customer a quotation for a job I was making a judgement on their installation and their needs.
I was effectively, designing, installing and testing the installation which seem to be far more than just providing advice and/or an EICR.
My current PLI is £70 the combined PLI and indemnity insurance of my last quote was over £300.