wiring switches

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi i am trying to replace old switches with new chrome ones,i have a single switch near my door entry with a red,blue and yellow wire,which controls the hallway light which is connected to the 2 gang switch at the other end of the room.In the two gang switch across the room i have three cables coming in,1 cable has 2 red wires and an earth and 2 cables have red,blue,yellow and earth which in turn operates my upstairs landing light,which has another load of cables and a 2 gang switch that operates 2 lights 1 at each end of the landing.i have no idea how to reconnect the wires now as my old switches seem different to my new ones,the old had L1,L2,the new ones have not,i need to know where the wires reconnect.can anyone draw me a diagram..i am a complete novice with electrics and should never have tried with out an electricians help,but i have a very empty purse and an even emptier blonde head..please help as i am now using a torch to climb the stairs.

Sponsored Links
1. MAKE SURE THE POWER IS OFF

From the sound of things, the first switch you mention has only ONE set of cables, coloured red, blue and yellow (plus earth). I would normally wire Red=C, Blue=L1 and Yellow=L2. The second switch, with one twin red and two red/blue/yellow cables needs more care. If you have mixed up the two R/Y/B cables careful experimentation will be required.