Work Anxiety

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
May I ask a question please, mostly to the SE people on this site. I am still relatively new to SE, I have been fortunate with work in the 7 months since being SE but I have a constant underlying anxiety about where the next job is coming from, which in turn causes stress on top of normal stresses.

Don't get me wrong I do enjoy being SE but the stress is something I really haven't learnt how to deal with. Does this stress lesson as one becomes more established and conversant. Or does one need to find a way to stop thinking about work.

Any help would be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Or does one need to find a way to stop thinking about work

That's basically it.
Getting stoned on a bottle of whiskey will soon take your mind off work!

Or does one need to find a way to stop thinking about work.

Any help would be appreciated.[/quote]

trouble is,you end up chasing all the work your offered without taking any time off at all.this is ok if you only look after your own d.ick,but when you have a young family to contend with tempers can start to fray.i know it did with me when i was S.E.

You never really completely stop thinking about work when you are self employed.
Unfortunately the daily grind is not limited by the clock and you find yourself working long after the tools have been put away, i.e. pricing, accounts, billing etc.

I think the secret is to be as good a tradesman as you can and do as good a job as you can. This will ensure that you will get plenty of follow up work and mean no come-backs to old jobs.

There is nothing more satisfying than a full order book whereby you have months of work booked in. I'm lucky in the sense that if I have say 3 extensions booked in then I can practically have the year filled.