ZANUSSI WDS1183W WASHER DRYER NOT SPINNING

Bo

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Newbie here :D .

Hi I've got a 7 year old Zanussi washer/dryer that has stopped spinning. My wife heard a bang come from the machine whilst in a cycle when it stopped.

The machine powers up and will run through the cycles filling and emptying without turning the drum. There is a sound that comes from the machine that sounds like the motors running (haven't had it running with the back off yet)

The drive belt is on and when turned the drum and motor spin freely without any noise or roughness.

There does appear to be a black deposit around the contacts of the heating element, surrounding cables and the adjacent back of the machine, not sure if it is deposit from belt wear or an electrical flash.

Took the element out and checked all wiring and connections which seem ok

Is there anything else that would be an easy check before looking at the motor brushes. I've looked through all the previous questions and not seen anything similar with the associated bang

Breezer looks like the man! Dont't let me down lol

Cheers and great forum

Bo

Sponsored Links
So many variants on the zanussi.
Some have a pcb on the bottom which controls the motor, some don't and the motor is controlled by the timer.
The black deposits are more than likely carbon dust from the motor carbons.
Check the carbon brushes in the motor, best place to start.

Sleepyhead said:
So many variants on the zanussi.
Some have a pcb on the bottom which controls the motor, some don't and the motor is controlled by the timer.
The black deposits are more than likely carbon dust from the motor carbons.
Check the carbon brushes in the motor, best place to start.

Thanks for the reply
This one does have the PCB in the bottom, still wondering what the bang was. do the capitors go bang if they blow?

Sponsored Links