Our Central Heating has our plumber stumped...NEED your help

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there...newbie here so be gentle!

For a few months now our Central Heating has been getting worse and worse to the point where in the last month it has become completely ineffective (Hot Water works perfectly but rads are cold).

I (well, father in law truth be told) replaced the pump, diverter valve, converted to a sealed system and ran sludge remover through the system. Each time something changed, the system seemed to get a bit worse. The heating was left with luke warm radiators. It had him stumped and he said it felt like a flow problem on the CH circuit and recommended a Power Flush. We we got a plumber in and he agreed that a powerflush seemed the next logical step.

The plumber has powerflushed the entire system including taking each rad off. Yet, again, it got worse to the point that the rads are stone cold. Refusing to be defeated the plumber came back and has:
- re-routed some inefficient piping (randomly going upstairs and back)
- added manifolds to route the heating flow and return to each radiator individually, hopefully meaning that if one rad was blocked at least the other 6 would work
and after all that...the boiler won't come on at all and we now have not Hot Water either!

The plumber has been great and is now officially losing money on us but is pretty stumped. He said he thinks it's the boiler but can't answer my question of "well, why was the hot water working (without immersion) if the boiler was at fault".

Any ideas would be greatly received as at the moment I am staring at a very cold Christmas given that my plumber has ran out of ideas!

Ta!

(I have a W-B Greenstar 15 Ri boiler running on a sealed system with 7 rads, hot water cylinder)

Sponsored Links
What does the boiler do when you switch it on and call for heat?

I'm guessing the thermostat is up and the system pressure is around 1 bar?