DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Garage CU


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Andydevon

from United Kingdom

Joined: 29 Mar 2010
Posts: 13
Location: Devon,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 4:25 pm Reply with quote

I am having a new garage door fitted with an electric opener. As part of the electrical install is to fit at my request a garage CU to replace an old junction box with a more professional solution. The cables in the picture come through the wall from the main CU - modern with RCD etc. The large cable is for a shower and not to be disturbed. The line into the junction box is for power in the garage split 3 ways to 3 separate sockets.

[/img]

The lighting circuit is separate and fed through the Kitchen.

After the garage CU is installed and part P signed off I intend to run the cabling through conduit rather than just clipped to the joist. Is running through conduit minor work i.e. does not require signing off as well?

Basic question is, am I over engineering this? Would a better junction box be just as adequate with conduit?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
electronicsuk

from United Kingdom

Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 3314
Location: Lincolnshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 275 times

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 5:06 pm Reply with quote

As you seem to be hinting, there's little point in installing any kind of DB here. The important thing is to ensure that the correct protection is installed back at the main consumer unit. Assuming it's 2.5mm T+E, you will likely be looking at a 16A protective device. You'll need to check on derating factors on account of moving the cables from clipped direct into conduit.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
pjcomp

from United Kingdom

Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 507
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 70 times

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 5:10 pm Reply with quote

Sounds like you're making it a lot neater, and from what you've said the garage CU is a bit over engineered. Sounds like the garage is integral to the house, not a separate building, so your current cabling souinds OK (assuming the three garage sockets are on a radial and not a radial spur off the ring ...). Garage door openers are usually 12V so the power requirement from them is pretty minimal, and plugging it into one of your existing sockets would probably work perfectly well.

But hey, better to be neat and over-engineered than having the sort of dog's breakfast we so often see here.

PJ
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Taylortwocities

from United Kingdom

Joined: 27 Jul 2006
Posts: 11815
Location: Oxfordshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 925 times

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 5:15 pm Reply with quote

Does that feed to the garage come from its own mcb in the main fuseboard?
If so, what is the value of that ?

You say that there is an RCD protecting the circuit. There's no point having another one in a garage CU, as stated above, all you need is a switched FCU for the lights.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ban-all-sheds

from United Kingdom

Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 45014
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1578 times

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 5:16 pm Reply with quote

Andydevon wrote:
After the garage CU is installed and part P signed off I intend to run the cabling through conduit rather than just clipped to the joist.

Do you mean that you intend to run new final circuits?

If so they'll need testing and will be notifiable and there's little value in an EIC and Building Regulations certificate which don't cover all of the circuits.

If you mean you're going to take the wiring, disconnect it and put it through conduit then although that's not notifiable you ought to have the electricians do it as after what is essentially a rewire of the circuits using the old cable it ought to be tested.
Back to top
The following user says thank you to ban-all-sheds for this useful post:
Andydevon (28 Oct 2010)
 Alert Moderators
Andydevon

from United Kingdom

Joined: 29 Mar 2010
Posts: 13
Location: Devon,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 6:07 pm Reply with quote

Thanks for all the suggestions.

Yes it is an over engineered option but it will be tidy and neat. Protection is more than satisfactory at the main CU. All it will cost me is the new Garage unit & conduit & a few conduit boxes (50 odd) and they are not charging extra on the fitting fee for the door so might as well use the fitters when there here. The door is costing an arm and a leg but is the best I could find so lets do a proper job. (50 odd does not include bacon butties & mugs of tea of course)

I take on board the suggestion to test all the cables and conduit beforehand this does make a lot of sense. I do not intend adding any more sockets / spurs etc. after this so it will be a test of what is there.

Thanks for the prompt responses
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
securespark

from United Kingdom

Joined: 11 Jan 2004
Posts: 24365
Location: Cheshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 396 times

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 11:20 pm Reply with quote

Am I seeing that JB right?

Is that the JB for the shower?

If so, is the feed for the garage spliced off it?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
1john

from United Kingdom

Joined: 03 Oct 2009
Posts: 3349
Location: West Glamorgan,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 340 times

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 7:52 am Reply with quote

I dont think so fella, the 6mm seems to pass the junction box and is propping the wayrock up off of the joist above.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Andydevon

from United Kingdom

Joined: 29 Mar 2010
Posts: 13
Location: Devon,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 11:00 am Reply with quote

The shower cable is separate to the power cable they just come through the same hole in the wall. Yes it does need sorting and the area above the cable clearing.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
External meter cupboard on the garage wall. 24 1120 Wed May 12, 2010 6:31 pm
spur from a consumer unit in garage 8 520 Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:25 pm
Garage/garden power 5 560 Tue Apr 27, 2010 7:28 pm
Garage Supply - a garage to far 12 720 Wed Nov 17, 2010 7:29 am
wiring up a garage lighting circuit 5 2540 Wed Jun 09, 2010 9:16 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.