DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Outside light from spur

This topic originated from the How to page called Adding a spur to a ring circuit from a socket
Click here to return to the page called Adding a spur to a ring circuit from a socket.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hadsatron

from United Kingdom

Joined: 18 Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 5:36 pm Reply with quote

I want to run an outside light from a spur coming of an electrical socket. Can I do this and what cable would I need for the spur?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
festa

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Feb 2006
Posts: 212
Location: Cheshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 5:57 pm Reply with quote

Yes you can do this as long as your new extension doesn't put too much on to the circuits Earth fault loop.

If the ring is run in 2.5mm twin and earth then your spur should be in the same size cable to a suitable FCU,from there,depending on the power the new light is pulling you can run a smaller cable as long as the fuse in the FCU protects it i.e...

If your new light is 1000w then 2.5mm should be run to the FCU, from the FCU you can run either 1mm or 1.5mm cable ( for ease of terminating in new light fitting) to the new fitting and a suitable 5amp fuse placed in the FCU.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
hadsatron

from United Kingdom

Joined: 18 Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:36 pm Reply with quote

Thanks for that. What sort of FCU would you reccommend and where should I locate it. I was planning to run the spur from a socket that is on the inside of the outside wall where the light is to be placed. Should I run the spur to the FCU on the inside and then run the cable from the FCU outside to the light?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
JohnD

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 36221
Location: Hampshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1287 times

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:46 pm Reply with quote

have the FCU inside the house.

It will then be out of the rain and you will not need to buy an expensive weatherproof one. Fit a 3A fuse cartidge.

Put the FCU next to, or above, the socket that it spurs from. make a neat permanent label saying "outside lights spur, 3A"


Last edited by JohnD on Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:47 pm, edited 1 time in total
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
securespark

from United Kingdom

Joined: 11 Jan 2004
Posts: 24883
Location: Cheshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 424 times

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:47 pm Reply with quote

festa wrote:
1000w.........5amp fuse



When I had a security lighting circuit running 1000W off a type 1 5A breaker, it kept tripping.poo poo farts
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
securespark

from United Kingdom

Joined: 11 Jan 2004
Posts: 24883
Location: Cheshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 424 times

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:48 pm Reply with quote

securespark wrote:
festa wrote:
1000w.........5amp fuse



When I had a security lighting circuit running 1000W off a type 1 5A breaker, it kept tripping.poo poo farts



I must apologise....my 7 yo has just hijacked this post and written a load of juvenile toilet words.... something I'd never do...icon_wink.gif

What I meant to say was....


When I had a security lighting circuit running 1000W off a type 1 5A breaker, it kept tripping. I had to downgrade the load to 6/800W.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
bpowell555

from United Kingdom

Joined: 19 May 2005
Posts: 360
Location: Sussex,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2007 12:46 pm Reply with quote

I was thinking of doing this but the light site is round the corner from the socket. Can I run the cable round outside at the top of the wall or do I need to chase it all the way up the inside and along the top of the wall to the middle of the patio doors and out? For the outside option I was wondering if I could run the cable 1.5m up the wall then inside again for the switch and then up from there?

Cheers!
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Tim 77

from United Kingdom

Joined: 13 Feb 2007
Posts: 565
Location: Nottingham,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2007 12:57 pm Reply with quote

securespark wrote:
.poo poo farts


Toilet talk, I get it all the time from my 4 year old son! icon_biggrin.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
bpowell555

from United Kingdom

Joined: 19 May 2005
Posts: 360
Location: Sussex,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2007 8:40 pm Reply with quote

cheers for that big fella icon_rolleyes.gif icon_biggrin.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Outside light from inside fused spur? 3 140 Mon May 21, 2012 3:29 pm
Can I use a light switch as a cut off for a spur? 19 460 Sun May 06, 2012 5:45 pm
Adding Light from mains spur 5 480 Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:46 am
Adding light fitting to fused spur socket 11 200 Tue Aug 21, 2012 9:19 pm
2 lights, one spur, only one light working 40 540 Wed Oct 24, 2012 10:12 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.