DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Adding an extra plug socket


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
garrymum

from United Kingdom

Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 651
Location: Leeds,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 5 times

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 12:38 pm Reply with quote

Looking to add another plug socket in my garage.
Currently have 1 plug socket and lights in the garage, fed from a small consumer unit located in the garage (socket and lights on different circuits).

Am I ok to take a spur from the existing socket using 2.5mm twin and earth cable?

TIA
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
RobFurn

from United Kingdom

Joined: 16 Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:48 pm Reply with quote

Thats fine so long as the sockets are RCD protected and the breaker is not any higher than 20A
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
garrymum

from United Kingdom

Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 651
Location: Leeds,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 5 times

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 2:17 pm Reply with quote

Hi

Not sure about either of those points icon_confused.gif

The garage is fed from the main consumer unit in the house, with it's own MCB.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
RobFurn

from United Kingdom

Joined: 16 Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 4:36 pm Reply with quote

Any chance of a pic of the CU in your garage or a better description of the CU i.e. Old rewireable fuses/MCBs etc
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
garrymum

from United Kingdom

Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 651
Location: Leeds,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 5 times

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 4:41 pm Reply with quote

RobFurn wrote:
Any chance of a pic of the CU in your garage or a better description of the CU i.e. Old rewireable fuses/MCBs etc

Will upload a pic when I get home from work.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
garrymum

from United Kingdom

Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 651
Location: Leeds,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 5 times

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:24 pm Reply with quote

RobFurn wrote:
Any chance of a pic of the CU in your garage or a better description of the CU i.e. Old rewireable fuses/MCBs etc


Pic below

Back to top
 Alert Moderators
RobFurn

from United Kingdom

Joined: 16 Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:36 pm Reply with quote

No RCD there Im afraid. Is the MCB from your main CU which is supplying your garage CU on the RCD side of the board?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
garrymum

from United Kingdom

Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 651
Location: Leeds,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 5 times

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 11:23 pm Reply with quote

RobFurn wrote:
No RCD there Im afraid. Is the MCB from your main CU which is supplying your garage CU on the RCD side of the board?


Does that mean, if I test the RCD from the main CU, does that disable the garage CU????
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
RobFurn

from United Kingdom

Joined: 16 Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2007 10:30 am Reply with quote

Yes!

Put your lights on in the garage and test the RCD from your main CU. If the lights go out in your garage then you know the the MCB protecting the sub main cable to the MEM CU in the garage is RCD protected. If the lights stay on you will have to change the MCB to an RCBO or change the garage sockets to these

http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Products/CM4901.html
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
garrymum

from United Kingdom

Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 651
Location: Leeds,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 5 times

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 12:22 pm Reply with quote

RobFurn wrote:
Yes!

Put your lights on in the garage and test the RCD from your main CU. If the lights go out in your garage then you know the the MCB protecting the sub main cable to the MEM CU in the garage is RCD protected. If the lights stay on you will have to change the MCB to an RCBO or change the garage sockets to these

http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Products/CM4901.html


Finally got round to checking this. Right, the electrics in the garage are connected to the RCD side of the main consumer unit in the house. All lighting and the one socket is tripped once I test the RCD in main CU.

So, I can take a spur from the one socket and create another?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Adding an extra socket on same wall 6 860 Sun Jul 18, 2004 1:48 pm
Adding an extra socket 2 100 Wed Oct 26, 2011 4:25 pm
Adding an extra socket... 6 3160 Fri Oct 05, 2007 9:15 pm
Adding an extra socket to a remote 4 220 Fri Jan 09, 2009 5:49 pm
Loft Wiring (Getting an extra plug socket) HELP! 9 180 Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:44 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.