DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Vaillant combi boiler...pressure gauge at 3 bar


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Plumbing and Central Heating
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jonobaker

from United Kingdom

Joined: 22 Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Location: Yorkshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2007 2:17 pm Reply with quote

Noticed yesterday that the pressure gauge on my boiler was beyond the red mark at 3 bar. I have an engineer coming out tomorrow but is there anything I can do in the meantime to get the pressure down?
I turned the pressure release knob underneath the boiler and the pressure does go down but it soon builds back up to 3 bar again.
Also bled every radiator in the house, but it's still at 3 bar
I've shut it down completely as I daren't use it as it is at the moment and the house is freezing!
Happy Christmas icon_wink.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
Agile

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 Jun 2004
Posts: 52313
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 3269 times

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2007 2:20 pm Reply with quote

The over prerssure will not stop the boiler from working in the short term.

The filling loop is probably left open. You should try to close this ASAP.

As you probably left it open yourself when trying to fill the system then reverse whatever yuo did or look at the FAQ on this site.

Tony
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
gas4you

from United Kingdom

Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 17578
Location: Norfolk,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 745 times

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2007 9:49 pm Reply with quote

As Tony said, make sure filling loop is off completely, then find a drain point on one of the radiators or under the boiler and drain off some water into a bucket until pressure is down to around 1.5 bar.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
whoisjay

from United Kingdom

Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 6
Location: London,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 9:05 pm Reply with quote

This post is just over one year old, but I have a very similar situation. Its New Years eve, so getting hold of a plumber is impossible !! Any help would be much appreciated...

We have a Vaillant ecoTEC 637 boiler (less than 4 months old). After being away for a while, we had the boiler turned off, when we returned today and turned it back on I looked at the pressure and it was well below 1 bar, so I added some pressure from the filling loop (I was very careful to turn this off once filled and I have double and triple checked the filling loop is off)

However it looks like it was just not up to temp yet which is why it was low and now I have added to much pressure as it is now up at 3.1 bar and showing no sign of dropping many hours later.

I'm no expert in this, but have been reading what I can about this model boiler - am I right in understanding the built in "pressure release valve" is automatically operated by the boiler when it detects its too highly pressurized? It doesn't seem to be doing this.

Alternatively do I need to operate this "pressure release valve" myself? I can't for the life of me see where it is though!

Any help much, much appreciated.


Last edited by whoisjay on Wed Dec 31, 2008 9:19 pm, edited 1 time in total
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
gas4you

from United Kingdom

Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 17578
Location: Norfolk,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 745 times

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 9:17 pm Reply with quote

Drain some water out of the system via a convenient drain cock, then call Agile from his profile.

He is always telling us that he comes out straight away for any faults icon_wink.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Plumbing and Central Heating All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Vaillant 828E TurboMax Combi Boiler Pressure Gauge Problem 8 140 Sun Jan 27, 2013 8:09 pm
Fitting A Pressure Gauge on a Vaillant TurboMax Plus 6 1280 Tue Aug 14, 2007 5:08 pm
Pressure gauge not working on Vaillant ecotec pro 28 12 140 Wed Feb 19, 2014 7:01 pm
new vaillant 831 -pressure gauge in red 21 5780 Tue Nov 11, 2008 8:07 pm
Vaillant Ecotec plus 824 r1 pressure gauge reads 0.4 4 1180 Sun Nov 09, 2008 1:52 am


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.