2 Gang Switch and a whole lot of confusion!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'll start by saying...help i'm desperate!

I'm a complete amateur here and i've inherited a problem I don't fully understand, which is causing me some annoyance.

so, the situation is that I have a light at the top and bottom of the stairs and a double switch at the bottom and on the landing. currently neither is connected to anything. I'll stress at this point that I didn't disconnect them, but that is neither here nor there. I've managed to identify which wires are which through trial and error with a single switch. However, I still can't get the double point to work.

Currently I have 3 lives, 3 neutrals and 3 earths at each location. i've been trying various combinations of L1, L2 and com till i'm about ready to pull my hair out. Each light works on it's own, but I can not get the 2nd switch portion right.

I'm sure this is a relatively simple prospect with somebody with a decent working knowledge....however, i am not that person! Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Apologies if i've not explained the problem clearly, let me know if there is anything further I need to add.

Sponsored Links
Are you sure you have 3 neutrals? Or are these black switch wires?
You need to identify where these wires go to, I'd suspect at least one pair of twin and earth will run between the two light switches, hopefully you'll have two. Are all the lights in the house on the same fuse or are they spread out over two or three fuses?

Are you sure you have 3 neutrals? Or are these black switch wires?
You need to identify where these wires go to, I'd suspect at least one pair of twin and earth will run between the two light switches, hopefully you'll have two. Are all the lights in the house on the same fuse or are they spread out over two or three fuses?

i've got an upstairs and downstairs fuse...but both these lights are on the upstairs fuse. Despite one being at the bottom of the stairs.