Halogen lights

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Can you use dimmer switches with Gu10 halogen lights? I have 2 fittings running off one switch which worked for a while but now it's only working very rarely and only at full brightness when it does. As you can probably tell I'm a complete novice with these things so any advice is gladly accepted.

Sponsored Links
Not being familiar with the actual lamps you refer to
option 1)
If they are low voltage and running from a transformer.
Most normal dimmer switches can not run a conventional transformer with out going wrong (as yours appears to have) you need to have an eletronic transfomer which you can get from (also an electronic dimmer too)

http://www.screwfix.com/app/sfd/cat/pro.jsp?id=10066&ts=55416

Option 2)

If they are mains fed lamps you may have over loaded your dimmer switch, in which case you will need to get a bigger one that can handle the total wattage of your lamps

If you are in America i would suggest you try a local electrical wholesaler

THE GU 10'S ARE 12VOLT LIGHTS YOU CAN USE THEM WITH A DIMMER (IN YOUR CASE I THINK THAT YOU NEED A NEW SWITCH-HOW LONG DID THE OLD ONE ACTUALLY WORK FOR?)

I am gratefull for the fact that you said the lamps are 12 volt, however just changing the switch (to an identical one) is only curing the problem not the cause. it is a popular misconception that a dimmer switch can run any light.

If you look at the link it does say it is "full dimmable"
there is also a dimmer switch made specifialy for "electronic transformers"

it is http://www.screwfix.com/app/sfd/cat/pro.jsp?id=18588&ts=66712

Sponsored Links
if you have 2 fittings running from 1 switch then you have probably overloaded the switch as most switches will only power one fitting you will more than likely need to replace the switch with a more powerful one or change your bulbs to ones that when all added up only come to the total wattage that the switch can handle (not an expect but daddy is lol :D )