Main Medway Super problem

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I had a problem with the pilot staying lit, cured it by cleaning the jet. But now the boiler doesn't fire-up when I turn the hot taps on. I havn't touched anything other than the pilot jet. Any tips would be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
I had a problem with the pilot staying lit, cured it by cleaning the jet. But now the boiler doesn't fire-up when I turn the hot taps on. I havn't touched anything other than the pilot jet. Any tips would be appreciated.

Have you cleaned it or blocked it? you shouldn`t be cleaning anything related to the gas side of the appliance, get a Gas Safe Registered fitter to sort it.

I removed and cleaned the jet, the small section with the gauze and olive.
I am an engineer, though not registered CORGI. Just trying to find out if it was something I could put right myself.

I am an engineer, though not registered CORGI. Just trying to find out if it was something I could put right myself

Are you a gas fitter?

Sponsored Links
Many thanks namsag.
By the way, I work on electrical, electronic, pneumatic, hydraulic and steam systems. I am required, by law, to work in a safe manner, whether that be in my own property or at work. Gas fitting is in itself is a skill/trade and like electrical work not a 'black art' or some kind of special magic. try not to be so patronising to posters. Not everyone is a numpty!

Eh did you miss the bit where he said had cured pilot out by cleaning it

He had a problem with the pilot staying lit, probably thermocouple, he has now cleaned the the jet, he know can`t fire up the heater, I assume he is not a fitter and unused to servicing water heaters he has probably blocked the pilot injector, he now has two problems instead of his first problem. What do you think Sherlock?