DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Tarmac on top of concrete???


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Building
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
plumbermitch

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Aug 2007
Posts: 14
Location: Cumbria,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 10:44 am Reply with quote

Can you or can you not lay tarmac on top of concrete?
Thanks for any help you can give.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
^woody^

from United Kingdom

Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 12977
Location: Birmingham,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1254 times

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:09 am Reply with quote

Do you mean like ..... on bridges?

icon_wink.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
plumbermitch

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Aug 2007
Posts: 14
Location: Cumbria,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:48 am Reply with quote

No not on bridges!--just looking for a cheap and easy way to cover over old cracked concrete in my front garden--there is also a large area of existing tarmac and an unwanted flowerbed so I hoped to be able to use tarmac so that it would match up. One contractor quoted for full excavation and installation of new base and two layers of tarmac--all got a bit too expensive (100 sq.metres) but another said he could lay a topcoat of 6mm tarmac over the existing concrete--a lot cheaper-but how long would it last???
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
PrinceCharles

from United Kingdom

Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 50
Location: Sussex,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 1:13 pm Reply with quote

Yes you can. Plenty of concrete roads have been overlaid with black. The success of your garden venture however would depend on the condition and stability of the underlying concrete.

HRH
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
^woody^

from United Kingdom

Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 12977
Location: Birmingham,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1254 times

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 2:00 pm Reply with quote

plumbermitch wrote:
No not on bridges!--


icon_rolleyes.gif

[for example]

Tarmac roads are laid across concrete bridges
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
mattylad

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 Apr 2008
Posts: 3912
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 105 times

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 4:23 pm Reply with quote

You should have seen Rogue Traders last week.

They had a cowboy laying 6mm ish tarmac over concrete.

Lifted up easily.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
^woody^

from United Kingdom

Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 12977
Location: Birmingham,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1254 times

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 5:01 pm Reply with quote

What? Do you mean he did not use Uni-bond

Outrageous icon_eek.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
plumbermitch

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Aug 2007
Posts: 14
Location: Cumbria,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 5:14 pm Reply with quote

I know so little about it that I don't know if woody's Unibond is a joke or not!!--but the man did say that a tack coat would be applied to the concrete first. What depth of 6mm would be deep enough?
Can I watch Rogue traders on i-player?? What channel was it on and on what night.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
PrinceCharles

from United Kingdom

Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 50
Location: Sussex,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 5:38 pm Reply with quote

You would definitely need to tack coat the area before laying any black. The key to a good finish though is the condition of the concrete underneath. If you lay your black on an unstable surface this will reflect up to your finished surface. 6mm does sound a touch thin, I would aim for 10mm thick using 6mm bitmac.
As a rule of thumb the layer thickness should be approx 1.5 times the size of aggregate.

HRH
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
priorsleevalley35

from United Kingdom

Joined: 13 May 2009
Posts: 3
Location: Shropshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2009 4:33 pm Reply with quote

No problem with overlaying concrete with tarmac provided a few guidelines are followed.

Surface needs to be sound, any cracked areas treated. A good quality bond coat applied and then specialist anti cracking material - supplied by me of course - laid over any joints to prevent reflective cracking.

At least 25mm of 6mm Dense Surface Course laid by a quality contractor.

Contact me for further information.

Regards.

Priorsleevalley35
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Building All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Tarmac to concrete edge 4 80 Mon Feb 27, 2012 5:43 pm
Tarmac Drive and Inspection Chamber 3 80 Mon Apr 02, 2012 3:11 pm
tarmac 2 80 Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:44 pm
Removing tarmac driveway? 8 300 Mon Dec 26, 2011 2:34 pm
Cheapest way to repair tarmac path 2 60 Sun Nov 27, 2011 4:31 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.