DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Please help with TESCO iQon


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Software
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
paulius85

from Ireland

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 10:33 am Reply with quote

hi about three years ago i bought iqon pc from tesco.once i got black screen with written (software fault).after i couldnt start it again.
i have tryed reinstalling windows but it freezes after i get (press any button if you want to boot from cd).
i can access bios
if somebody knows please help me whats can it be
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
Goldberg

from United Kingdom

Joined: 30 Jun 2009
Posts: 1211
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 42 times

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 9:06 am Reply with quote

It sounds like a hardware fault - reinstalling Windows, without knowing at least the nature of the original fault, is not a good idea.

The first steps would be to test the RAM and the disk, to eliminate them as suspects, then move on to other possible causes.

If you don't have the means to do those tests, then the best way forward is to contact a local repair shop or a roving professional.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
paulius85

from Ireland

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 5:25 pm Reply with quote

hi thanks for replay.i tryed to check ram memory and hdd (i got a loan from my friend of 1 gb ddr1 ram and its still the same then i pluged in an external hdd and still couldnt do anything!i think its a good time start looking for a new one
icon_smile.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Goldberg

from United Kingdom

Joined: 30 Jun 2009
Posts: 1211
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 42 times

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 6:34 pm Reply with quote

I don't think your method of testing will result in certainty about the RAM and hard disk, so it would still be cheaper to pay for the services of a professional than to buy a new machine.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
TESCO iQon 18 40740 Thu Feb 02, 2006 3:27 pm
IQON TROUBLE 7 840 Mon May 10, 2010 9:06 pm
IQON PC running slow after Destructive Reset 6 340 Tue Sep 18, 2012 11:46 pm
Lost iQon drivers LM7WE Please Help 22 4880 Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:05 am
Transfer stored emails from tesco to Microsoft 2 400 Fri Feb 20, 2009 6:07 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.