DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Induction hob fitting


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Cani

from United Kingdom

Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Posts: 4
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:50 pm Reply with quote

Just bought an induction hob and it came without a plug.
I have checked my house has a 30 amp fuse in the main fuse box for the oven.
Behind the main cooker i have 2 sockets - one which runs the electric oven.
Can i put a 13amp plug on the Induction hob and plug it in? It is i believe rated at 2.5kw but reading some posts (to search for answers) this can go to over 5kws when in full use (i can only guess if more than one hob is being used) will a 13amp fuse be okay? Being a stonemason and not an electrician, can i presume i wont fry the 13 amp fuse?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
bongos

from United Kingdom

Joined: 07 Jul 2007
Posts: 996
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 78 times

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:56 pm Reply with quote

It is likely to be rated at more than 2.5kW if it is an induction hob - unless it is very small! Is there a data plate on in anywhere? What make and model is it? What do the MI say?

I undertsand that diversity cannot be applied (usually) to induction hobs. Basically the cable will need to be able to supply the full output of the hob. It is highly unlikely that it will be able to be plugged in.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
loosenup

from United Kingdom

Joined: 30 Sep 2007
Posts: 90
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 6 times

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 10:23 pm Reply with quote

Hi Cani
I would suggest reading the installation instructions , as they are usually quite specific on power requirements .
Most electric hobs these days require 30amp supply on 6.0mm cable and need to be connected via a control switch which will isolate both live and neutral and have clearance at contacts of at least 3mm.
I would never connect any electric hob to a 13amp outlet.
If you are unsure of what you are doing then please for your safety sake , employ a qualified electrician who will advise the best course of action.
Also if the hob is not installed to manufacturers instructions .. then any warranty on your hob will be void. Your house insurance may not pay out as it would be classed as negligence.

Hope this helps
Phill
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Cani

from United Kingdom

Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Posts: 4
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 10:35 pm Reply with quote

I looked at the hob and it says 5600w. It has Blue/Brown wire joined to each other and a Black joined to a Grey wire with a traditional Earth wire. So that's 5 wires (creating 3 connections).
My lack of knowledge on this will now cause me to phone my electrician on Monday BUT any more advice would be gratefull just to increase my knowledge on the subject.
Note: just looked at the other posts, my kitchen has a seperate switch that says COOKER on/off just above the worktop - is this the isolating switch people are mentioning? it runs into the main fuse box that is rated at 30 amps marked 'Cooker'.
Can I presume this will be enough for it to run a cooker and Induction hob without having to add extra wires to the main fuse box (can the induction hob and cooker be run from the same 30a fuse) Still going to have electrician round but as said, be interesting to know a little more before i give him a call on Monday.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ericmark

from United Kingdom

Joined: 27 Jan 2008
Posts: 7615
Location: Flintshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 644 times

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 6:48 am Reply with quote

Please remember this is a guess. But what I think you have is a grey import designed for France where they connect two supplies to their hobs hence 5 cables which here we connect together.

At 5600W it needs 25A in theory 4mm cable but in practice 6mm cable will be used.

Do read instructions as because it is electronic it may need semi-conductor fuses not an MCB?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Install new Siemens oven & induction hob - fuse ratings? 4 140 Thu Apr 26, 2012 3:32 pm
Adding circuit for induction hob 5 120 Thu Mar 29, 2012 10:08 am
Wire selection for Siemens induction hob 12 180 Thu Mar 22, 2012 9:15 am
Which cable for an induction Hob? 4 180 Thu Mar 01, 2012 10:24 am
IKEA oven and Induction hob HELP 12 440 Fri Jun 08, 2012 10:03 am


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.