DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

New Power in Garage


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
theLoadedMonkey

from United Kingdom

Joined: 08 Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Location: Suffolk,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 10:21 am Reply with quote

I was thinking of installing the following electrics in my garage. I have done lots of research but can someone else confirm that this is all ok:



1. 2.5mm cable from consumer unit in house (16A fuse and RCD) - already installed.
2. Switchfuse unit or will a normal switch do?
3. All 2.5mm2 cable except for lighting.
4. Two junction boxes.
5. 3A fuse and switch for lighting (two 58W fluorescent lights and 150W security light).
6. Double power sockets.
7. All lighting cable is 1.5mm2.
8. Security light.
9. Switch junction.
10. Light switch.
11. Two 58W fluorescent lights.[img][/img][img][/img]
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
rebuke

from United Kingdom

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 872
Location: Cambridgeshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 25 times

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 11:00 am Reply with quote

That all looks fine, just remember new CU circuits are notifiable under Part P.

Also, how do you plan on testing the installation once complete?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
flameport

from United Kingdom

Joined: 10 Mar 2007
Posts: 4163
Location: Bournemouth,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 664 times

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 11:24 am Reply with quote

Nothing wrong with that, but you don't need half of the items.

The junction boxes are not needed - connections can be made in the switch box, FCU and the back of the sockets.
You don't need the switchfuse, since there is already a 16A MCB on the circuit.
1mm cable for the lighting.

Revised picture:
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
davelx

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 Sep 2006
Posts: 1156
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 61 times

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 11:24 am Reply with quote

rebuke wrote:
That all looks fine, just remember new CU circuits are notifiable under Part P.

Also, how do you plan on testing the installation once complete?


See item (1) above - so he's adding to existing icon_smile.gif

flameport wrote:

You don't need the switchfuse, since there is already a 16A MCB on the circuit.
1mm cable for the lighting.


I'd rather see a local isolation switch for garage though. A 20A DP would do as the circuit is already protected at 16A as you noted.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Spark123

from United Kingdom

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 14258
Location: Cumbria,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 409 times

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 11:37 am Reply with quote

Is the garage a separate building? Are there any extraneous conductive parts in the garage?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
theLoadedMonkey

from United Kingdom

Joined: 08 Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Location: Suffolk,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 12:21 pm Reply with quote

Thanks for all of your quick replies.

I definitely plan to test the installation once complete.

There was previously a similar circuit in the garage but due to roof leaks (now fixed) and old age, I decided that I ought to replace the existing electrics as the old one looked degraded/dodgy/corroded.

The garage is a separate building next to the house (2 metres). There are no conductive pipes or any other extraneous conductive parts that I am aware of. I will research this a bit more to be sure.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Power to my Garage 4 340 Fri May 07, 2010 7:51 am
New power saw trips garage mcb - what options do I have? 19 2520 Tue Aug 14, 2007 11:00 am
Power to Garage Crossing Drive 2 460 Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:07 am
Can I use the garage circuit to provide power to the garden? 21 940 Sun Feb 01, 2009 12:54 am
power supply to my garage? 2 720 Mon May 01, 2006 7:04 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.