Power tool tripping (MCB) in garage

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
My garage has its power circuits on a ring from a CU in the garage, protected by a 16A rcd*. I have one particular tool, a planer thicknesser which, when you start it, more often than not trips said rcd. Annoying.

The manual states it is an 1800W device at 240V.

When it doesn't trip the rcd*, it runs fine for extended periods.

1800/240 = 7.5A, by my schoolboy physics, so is there likely to be a tool fault rather then a "power circuit design" fault?

* Edited by moderator - see below - seems to be MCB tripping not RCD

Sponsored Links
I am assuming you meant to say MCB instead of RCB.

A motor, when starting up, takes a lot more current than when running. A possible solution is to use a type C MCB but this is not something to do without first measuring the circuit Zs and checking that it will be safe.

Sorry, I am a landscaper, not an elec, so got the terms wrong! The CU has two CB cartidges, one for the lighting and one for the ring main. The switch on the latter is tripping, not the switch on the CU itself. It still trips when nothing else is plugged in to the power circuit.

Sponsored Links
so it's the breaker tripping not the rcd?
BS3036 has answered your question, the inrush current at start up is tripping your breaker, when it's running, will work fine but at start up current is too high, Type C needed

Or a B32.

WabbitPoo - what size is the cable for the socket circuits, and is it just clipped to the walls?

That's by using a ruler to measure across the ends of each strand, by eye, so not entirely sure its bang on. So, each strand is approx 1.5mm in diameter. See, I told you I wasnt an electrician!

Don't know when installed and by whom.

What cable size is required for a ring, then? I could replace it all if necessary. Or rather, I could get it replaced.