DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Consumer unit replacement - cowboy.

Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vera121

from United Kingdom

Joined: 31 Aug 2008
Posts: 114
Location: West Midlands,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 4:34 pm Reply with quote

Went to wire up CH system to-day and found a nice new consumer unit (dual RCD), recently installed by the 'nice man' who installed a new shower and cable. No certs, receipts or paperwork of any kind.
All the existing circuits on one RCD the shower on the other.
No bonding to water or gas service's which were both in the garage within a couple of meters of the DB.








Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
flameport

from United Kingdom

Joined: 10 Mar 2007
Posts: 4152
Location: Bournemouth,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 664 times

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 4:53 pm Reply with quote

What is that taped up mess just below the consumer unit next to the tails?

The rest -
why have a henley block in the tails, considering the meter isn't even sealed.
Bare copper showing on the shower MCB
Arrangement of circuits obviously a mess, 16A for a boiler?
Only 2 sockets in the kitchen on their own 32A circuit and supplied in what appears to be a 2.5mm radial
Something wrong with the 'downstairs lights' - wire entering the 6A MCB is at least 6mm.
'Upstairs lights' have 2 wires which suggests it's really all the lighting, and the 'downstairs' one is something else entirely.
Incoming tails have damaged insulation where someone has carelessly cut around the outer covering. Silly to cut the covering there anyway, further back would make bending the wires much easier.
Odd grey wire going to the right neutral block
Main earth looks like 10mm, so too small.
Nowhere near enough earth wires for the number of circuits.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
VanSolo

from United Kingdom

Joined: 28 Aug 2008
Posts: 213
Location: Tyne and Wear,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 5 times

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 5:01 pm Reply with quote

Just got to look at the writing on the CU. Poor and sloppy. Says it all.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
GaryMo

from United Kingdom

Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 4111
Location: Manchester,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 165 times

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 5:12 pm Reply with quote

flameport wrote:

Main earth looks like 10mm, so too small.


If you're right and it is 10mm earthing conductor then it may not be undersized when calculated via the adiabatic equation (assuming it's not a PME supply).
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
RF Lighting

from United Kingdom

Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 17521
Location: Leeds,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 946 times

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 5:13 pm Reply with quote

Wonder if it was done by the chap from homeserve? icon_lol.gif
Back to top
The following user says thank you to RF Lighting for this useful post:
GaryMo (8 Oct 2009)
 Alert Moderators
mdbalson

from United Kingdom

Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 709
Location: Kent,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 5:50 pm Reply with quote

It looks like the 2nd wire in the upstairs lights MCB is for the old bell transformer.

The taped up mess looks like a connector block with 2 cables from the capping on the wall going to it, which is then connected to the MCB marked Boiler & Heating along with another cable.

Faults

Earths too short so extra wire connected via connector blocks

Copper showing on connections

Poor dressing of cables in CU

Poor labelling of MCBs

No splitting of circuits between the 2 RCD's

No earthing of the gas & water services

Unnecessary Henley Block

2.5mm Radial on a 32A MCB

Incorrect ordering of MCBs on both RCDs
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
kai

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Aug 2004
Posts: 1070
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 39 times

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 7:23 pm Reply with quote

That looks like a PME supply to me, take a closer look at the right hand side of the service fuse holder block - very naughty to omit the protective bonding conductors here! icon_lol.gif icon_lol.gif icon_lol.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
GaryMo

from United Kingdom

Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 4111
Location: Manchester,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 165 times

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 7:39 pm Reply with quote

I've seen many TN-S supplies with an earth terminal on the side of the cutout fed via a split concentric cable. Internally the TN-C-S link isn't moved over.

Most PME supplies are marked as such, in my experience.


Last edited by GaryMo on Fri Oct 09, 2009 6:21 am, edited 1 time in total
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
DCC

from United Kingdom

Joined: 29 Aug 2008
Posts: 226
Location: Hertfordshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 5 times

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 8:26 pm Reply with quote

I love these pictures, its where you get to see what professionals/experienced people notice. I glanced at the picture and thought "Mess!" but didnt even spot the choc blocks (what the hell?).

Question though, why is visible copper on the connections hauled up when an inch above is a bare bus bar and screws? Is it just a matter of professional pride (which I understand) or if not, what's the actual requirement here?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
333rocky333

from United Kingdom

Joined: 12 Jan 2008
Posts: 4131
Location: Essex,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 263 times

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 8:48 pm Reply with quote

DCC wrote:

Question though, why is visible copper on the connections hauled up when an inch above is a bare bus bar and screws? Is it just a matter of professional pride (which I understand) or if not, what's the actual requirement here?


The bare bar is Neutrals and earth, the Live bar is usually sheilded and any live bits are not touchable.
Bare copper like that sometimes gives the impression the cable is loose or hanging out and makes you wary, there is no excuse as the hole is normally recessed enough to encase the insulation slightly.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
DCC

from United Kingdom

Joined: 29 Aug 2008
Posts: 226
Location: Hertfordshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 5 times

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 8:56 pm Reply with quote

Thats true, and I hadn't stopped to consider it was a live that was being commented on as opposed to anything else. Guess what I'm wondering is I know there are requirements for keeping probing fingers out of things but once the cover is taken off what are the rules - if I take the cover off a plug top things are pretty dangerous.

Quote:
Bare copper like that sometimes gives the impression the cable is loose or hanging out and makes you wary, there is no excuse as the hole is normally recessed enough to encase the insulation slightly


So its just a neatness then? (nothing wrong with that IMO, applies in all walks of life).
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
333rocky333

from United Kingdom

Joined: 12 Jan 2008
Posts: 4131
Location: Essex,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 263 times

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 9:07 pm Reply with quote

Although it is often done, you should not remove the cover With the main switch on anyway.
The manufacturers stamp that on the cover.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
GaryMo

from United Kingdom

Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 4111
Location: Manchester,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 165 times

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 9:23 pm Reply with quote

DCC wrote:
Thats true, and I hadn't stopped to consider it was a live that was being commented on as opposed to anything else. Guess what I'm wondering is I know there are requirements for keeping probing fingers out of things but once the cover is taken off what are the rules - if I take the cover off a plug top things are pretty dangerous.


You won't do that whilst it's energised in a socket though due to the location of the fixing screw.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
DCC

from United Kingdom

Joined: 29 Aug 2008
Posts: 226
Location: Hertfordshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 5 times

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 9:33 pm Reply with quote

OK OK but they werent always like that....

(Pretty sure I can remember plugs where the main screw just came all the way out)
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
spongsdad

from United Kingdom

Joined: 28 Mar 2006
Posts: 55
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 2 times

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 10:39 pm Reply with quote

But is it dangerous?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Rewire query.. A reason or cowboy? 7 880 Sat Apr 18, 2009 8:00 pm
Is everyone a cowboy!! 10 1060 Fri Nov 30, 2007 10:39 am
Cowboy electrics 3 480 Thu Nov 18, 2004 8:48 pm
work of a cowboy? 10 940 Sun Jul 25, 2004 5:02 pm
Cowboy Builder's Electrical work. 7 840 Wed Jul 01, 2009 4:25 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.