Central Heating Pump will not stop

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

First of all I'm an amateur, so please forgive if I don’t explain properly. I’ve looked on FAQ’s etc and previous posts, but can’t find an answer to my problem.

Bit of background, we have a sealed Central Heating system with an Ideal Classic Boiler and a Megaflow Hot Water tank. The system was really badly clogged up with black ‘water’, so over the summer I drained it and flushed it out thoroughly from the mains – via the feeder loop. I’ve also just replaced the feeder loop cos the valve on the old one was leaking water into the system all the time. I also added inhibitor when I refilled the system.

The problem I’ve now got is that the Central Heating Pump (separate unit just above the boiler) seems to run all the time. Even if the water is cold (several hours after switching boiler off – on the panel on the boiler) it is still running. The only way to stop it is to switch the boiler off at the wall.

I am not sure but I think this may be linked to the expansion vessel needing to be recharged? I don’t think the diaphragm is broken - no water came out whenI pushed the central pin in inlet air valve is pressed in. But almost no air came out either – so I guess its not charged..?

Any idea what could cause the pump to run all the time..?
Thanks, Andrew.

Sponsored Links
First of all, the pump running is not linked to the pressure in your system/expansion vessel, although you should re-charge that anyway. The pump will be wired to the controls on the boiler/programmer, if they're not turning it off it's either wired incorrectly or there's a broken switch somewhere.

Do you have a room thermostat? Does the pump still run if you turn this all the way down?

your right about the expansion vessel but we need the exact model of your boiler to help with the pump problem.