White smoke from oil boiler......

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Howdy lads , now understandably there are going to be a good few different options for this question but bear with me. I have a balanced flued outdoor oil boiler with a Riello RDB burner , whilst running it is blowing white smoke , and i mean white smoke. This is not condensate , i haven't had a fill of oil recently (plenty in there , just ruling out incorrect fuel) . Now I'm a gas boiler engineer and have never had the need to meddle with this (other than to clean it) or other oil boiler for that matter before so am a newbie ! However feel confident enough that I should be able to get this going (professional pride and all that) Its fairly clean in there , but will get a new injector for it. just need a few tips on any particular things to look at when i open her up. cheers in advance chaps.

Sponsored Links
I take it is still cold over the water, and the white smoke will probably the flue gasses condensing. Does the flue gas smell strongly of oil? if it does prob needs a good service and flue gas analysed. RDB burners are good apart from photo cell and most standard boilers do there job well.
The other thing it could be is a leak in the heat exchanger but this would give white smoke for a while but then the boiler would start to soot up and flue would look very sooty.

check that theres no water inside the boiler,seen this before where the heat xchanger is leaking inside, boiler comes on and turns it to Steam,think of a steam engine.

Assuming its an open vented system the tie up the ball valve and see if the water level is falling as a result of a leak in the combustion area.

You mentioned it is in an outside area so could this have frozen up and burst something inside the boiler?

Frost protection is very important for boilers mounted outside the thermal envelope of a property.

Tony

Sponsored Links