floor joist hangers,

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone, Im new to builing hence have many stupid sounding questions to be asked. please accept my appologies in advance

Whats the best way to install a suspended timber floor in a extension. should spaces be left in the inner blockwork, or can the brick and block work be taken all the way up without leaving any spaces,

ive read that floor joist hangers can be used with out leaving spaces in the block work, is that true? and is it safe?

thanks

Sponsored Links
This will be the best £18 you will ever spend

And will answer a lot of your other questions too

Hangers are used to avoid the necessity to build in joists. In a suspended ground floor, hangers have the advantage of reducing potential rot to joist ends built into walls

I think that's a bargain considering its content, maybe it also reveals what a valuable resource this free Forum is too? You've had about £500 free advice already and you've only be here a few weeks.

Sponsored Links
I totally agree freddy, as i've reverberated many times, you guy's are great!!!

You can download the chudley book for free. To answer your question there's a few ways to do it;
Build the joists in, this is quite old fashioned and I would wrap them in dpc or tar dip them as they enter the cavity (unlikely to get through modern insulation but why take the chance?)
Use joists hangers that wrap round the top of your clockwork, let the mortar take up before you fit these, your blockwork has to be cock on or you're packing or checking joists, bugger that!
Fit joists hangers to a bearer that you then bolt to the wall using thunderbolts and epoxy.

I bought my Chudley book from a jumble sale last year for 20p (20p for paperbacks, 50p for hardbacks). I had allready downloaded but had not read it on screen. I bought the Collins book of DIY many years ago.