Washing Machine does not heat water

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Ive noticed our Hotpoint 1100 Washer/Dryer WD61 doesn't seem to be heating the water to the correct temperature. It seems to get to a program where the water fills up, and should heat to say 40, but the front dial quickly moves to the next stage, without waiting for the water to heat properly.

Everything else seems to be working, and i've checked that both the cold and hot pipes are serving water ok, i know that the hot water is entering the drum, as i stopped it mid-fill to check the water and it was 'warm'.

Any ideas where i can start to look?

Sponsored Links
What you describe sounds a little "odd" to say the least.
Check the resistance of the heater is about 20 ohms.
you could also check the supply wiring and the crimp connectors as these somtimes go high resistance and get hot.
whats got me confused is the advancing of the programme.
quite unusual on hotpoint machines.
I'm a whirlpool engineer and am only guessing at your problem

there is an easier / safer way to check the heater, after filling the drum will move for a while then stop, this is called heat pause, open the soap drawer an listen very carefuly, you will hear the water being heated (or not as the case may be) i should suspect your heater has given up as hotpoint came out with an idea that if the heater doesnt work it does indeed move on one step.

Gees, you know how to take a m/c apart (so do i for my sins) but unless you know how and where /what the heater looks like, it is best left to people like you. i do not suppose the poster has a meter to check its resistance with any way.

after all this is a DIY forum, and some things are not for the diy person.

(and i am not saying where all the 9 screws are to get to the heater)

:oops: I get carried away and assume everyone has masses of test gear :oops:

Sponsored Links
Thanks for the help guys.