kitchen socket heights

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Is there a recommended height to put in sockets above the worktop as i have a new kitchen coming on friday and i am considering :confused: putting in a seperate ring main for the kitchen or at least adding some sockets, also can you hire the tools needed to chase out the cables ( i see they sell the drill bits in screwfix but they require a better drill than i have - i think :?: ) Any tips or advice welcomed ;) ,
Thanks in advance.....

Sponsored Links
I'm not a electrician.

You can hire a box sinker
91913_l.jpg
from most Tool Hire shop.

I'm not sure what the recommended height on worktop,I would've thought not too low as it can be awkward to use and not near the sink & hob area ? The electric guru hopefully will tell you soon!

Yup - you can get box sinkers and chasing tools, but they all require roto-stop SDS drills, and I guess that's what Kris is saying he doesn't have.

I don't think there is a recommended height, but people who sell DIY kitchens will often have design guides.

I've got some about 12" above the worksurface and some about 18", and I've come to the conclusion that you can't have them too high, but they can be too low.

When I finally get round to replacing my kitchen, I'm going to give serious consideration to something like this:

KS104.jpg

(see http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Main_In...s_Menu_Index/Under_Worktop_Sockets/index.html for full range*).

Or possibly this sort of thing:
UVSLSX.jpg

http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Main_Index/Trunking_Pvc_Index/Dado_Trunking/index.html *

GFGX3800.jpg

http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Main_Index/Trunking_Pvc_Index/GilflexGX3800/index.html *

mounted high up on the wall directly under the units - it looks neat, it's infinitely variable and easy to change later, it avoids having to cut and channel the walls, it makes tiling easier.....

* other suppliers of trunking etc are available