circuit consumption calculations

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
This is my first time so be gentle! How do you calculate the demand on an electrical circuit so that you can determine the correct cable size? . I have been asked to cable the lighting circuit to an extension which consists of 2 rooms - bathroom and bedroom. The bathroom will have 3 50w down-lighters, and a wall light/shaver point, and possibly an extractor. I do not know off-hand the power consumption of the shaver point and the extractor(is there a general guide?). I have been provided with 1.0mm twin + earth, which going from your excellent information is suitable for loads upto 3.24kw/h. Is it just as simple,as to add the sum of the power consumptions for the individual items in the circuit at 230v? :eek:

Sponsored Links
thanks for the reply. Was the logic of adding the consumptions for the individual items correct? Why is it that domestic lighting circuits are normally done in 1.5mm on a 6A breaker ,if 1.0mm can handle upto 14a ?

to be on the safe side and to allow for voltage drop. 14 Amps is also the MAXIMUM, not the RECOMENDATION.

Sponsored Links
whiz said:
thanks for the reply. Was the logic of adding the consumptions for the individual items correct? Why is it that domestic lighting circuits are normally done in 1.5mm on a 6A breaker ,if 1.0mm can handle upto 14a ?

if you use 1.5 you can rate the breaker at 10amp aswell

BR

Breezer's often right, and he's not wrong this time ;)

Copper wire is not a perfect conductor, it has resistance, so when current flows through it the voltage drops - you put 230V in at one end and you get less out at the other.

The amount the voltage drops depends on how long the wire is, and how much current is flowing. (V=IR and all that)

The resistance of 1mm cable is such that the voltage drop is 44mV per amp per metre of cable. Sounds trivial until you do the sums.

First, the wiring regs say that your voltage drop must not be more than 4%.