Cost plumber

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
What would a plumber normally charge for replacing taps for my bath? I want to make sure I will not be over charged.

Sponsored Links
Depends on what he has to do. I charge £45 if you have a combi boiler or tap valves fitted, all I have to do is shut the main stopcock off or turn a couple of screws. About £50 if I have to turn your loft stopcock off. About £60 if you have no valves or stop cocks because I have to wait for your tank to drain. If you want a cheap job, tell him you'll shut the water off and take the bath panel off before he gets there. If customers tell me this I then charge £40. After all, we have to make a living too and time's money. I could probably book another job in for that day which reduces your costs and mine.

Sponsored Links
As a plumber myself that sounds more than reasonable. Don't forget plumbers have other costs i.e van purchase, diesel, van maintenance, van insurance, travelling time, tools, general insurance, subscriptions, accountants, time ordering parts/stock etc etc etc, thats before you even get there. When you think about it mate, we'd be better off filling shelves!

I have asked 3 plumbers to change my bath and basin taps. Quotes range from £145 to £220 pounds, all of which say it's a 2-3 hour job plus materials. Of course, that's excluding cash. Is this experience unique to London?

Seems like best option is to try and do it myself - as it will take me 3 days to earn enough money to pay the plumber for the 2-3 hour job!

Sadly yes,they can charges what they like as we are shortage of plumbers in this country!

Plumber's are earning a fortune in London area.

Have a go yourself and we'll help you as you go along.

I'm a bit late in putting my two pennyworth in but.......