DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

how do i isolate a leaking radiator?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Plumbing and Central Heating
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
rapunzel

from United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 5:54 pm Reply with quote

Hi. I have a radiator that has sprung a leak at the base. It is dripping quite badly. Unfortunately, my usual plumber has gone on holiday and I have no real diy experience. I have closed what I believe is the lockshield valve (removed the white cover and turned the spindle clockwise with pliers until it was tight). The other valve is a honeywell trv for which I do not have a decorator cap. I closed the trv down to zero expecting the flow to at least slow, but after several hours it still seems to be dripping at the same rate. I have read that trvs remain open for frost protection, but this seems unlikely as it is not that cold. Should this have worked? What else could I do? Should I try to get hold of a decorater's cap - if i can get one is it obvious how it goes on? Please help if you can, bit of a damsel in distress here.
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
JPC

from United Kingdom

United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 6:25 pm Reply with quote

the trv should be ok at zero. i learnt on this forum u can on some models place a penny between the trvhead and pin to push is further down and therefore it wont open no matter what temp...