Straight door in crooked frame?

Reaction score
Country
Cook Islands
I have a M&T hardwood front door, on 3 brass hinges which I fitted myself several years ago. The door is an Alicante, the tenons are glued in with what looks like a black resin. I am very inexpert in joinery. Although the door fits well at the hinge side, the top of the lock side meets the frame before the bottom, so that there is a bit of spring in it to make the latch close. The door is not warped and is too rigid to rack into shape.

I wonder if I should address this by moving the hinges (remember I am a clumsy woodworker and the door is very heavy so I might make it worse) or perhaps shave the frame down at the top of the locking side. I do not have a rabbit plane but I think I could shave it down with a sharp chisel.

It is in an open porch so not exposed to the weather. The frame is stained softwood.

Sponsored Links
Is the door stop removeable? then the easiest is to re-position the door stop

Also it can be done by re-positioning the top hinge out slightly and the bottom hinge inwards. Put some small thin dowel or a few matches wedged in the old hinge holes with wood glue and dried before re-drilling the new holes. Might be an idea just do the top hinge first and leave the bottom hinge alone to see how you get on first.

Do one hinge at a time saving you taking the door off completey

Thanks for your reply ;)

masona said:
Is the door stop removeable? then the easiest is to re-position the door stop

Alas, no, it's a machined section.

masona said:
Also it can be done by re-positioning the top hinge out slightly and the bottom hinge inwards. Put some small thin dowel or a few matches wedged in the old hinge holes with wood glue and dried before re-drilling the new holes. Might be an idea just do the top hinge first and leave the bottom hinge alone to see how you get on first.

I don't think I can move the bottom hinge in; the hinge side closes tightly.