Boiler replacement question... Urgent advice needed please

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Our lovely British Gas service engineer has just condemed our boiler today. He has disconnected the gas and I am now having to take cold showers. I can just about put up with that but have a young son (9 weeks) so we need to get a new boiler pronto.

We live in a 4-bed detached house and want to know whether we would be better off with a traditional condensing boiler with a tank or a powerful combi boiler. I have no knowledge whatsoever and although I have scouted on the internet, I always think that forums are somewhere where you can get honest and frank advice as opposed to the salesman pitch that the British Gas guy will give me tomorrow. Any advice will be greatly appreciated!!!

Sponsored Links
First get a second opinion on your existing boiler. It may be that the BG guy was not justified in condemning it. Did he say it was Immediately Dangerous or At Risk? Did he ask your permission to disconnect it? The boiler may just require some minor thing like improved ventilation. Do not have anything more to do with BG, least of all getting a new boiler from them.

Thanks for that. I can't remember what he actually said but the boiler is 27 years old and I knew it was on its last legs. I am not very technical but I will describe the problem. At the back of the boiler, he showed me a cobweb that was moving (don't laugh) which he said showed that gas was being blown out of the back of the boiler. He said that it would be carbon dioxide and then carbon monoxide. He said this meant that there was a gas leak inside the boiler and, on inspection, he said that he had to disconnect the gas.

He didn't ask permission to disconnect it. He just did it. Do they have to ask permission by law?

Any other help and advice is most welcome.

Did he not issue you with a form explaining what action was taken?