Should I Pay These Charges?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
To cut a long story short:

My Ferroli Modena Boiler had developed a fault and I called a local Gas Engineer to come and have a look at it for me.

1. 1st bloke arrived and stated "I've never worked on one of these before". I had to correct him on where the DHW sensor was located and after 40 minutes of basically reading the manual he called a 2nd bloke to my address who stated the PCB, Flow Sensor or Pressure Switch was at fault. This took 1 hr in total and they stated the would order the parts overnight and come back the next day to fit them

2. Today the 2nd bloke arrived with a different colleague again and they spent another hour changing the PCB only to find it wasn't at fault. At the end of the hour they stated it was the flow sensor which was at fault and although they had ordered one their stores department had ordered the wrong one so they would have to come back again tomorrow to fit the correct Flow Sensor.

This company charge a £50 call out fee and then £38 per hour so therefore they will already be trying to charge me £50 plus £38 x 2 ie. £126. I'm guessing the Flow Sensor is around £40 and I can see them charging me another hour tomorrow so in total:

£50 Call Out
£38 per hour x 3
£40 Flow Sensor

Total = £204

Now I know nothing about how these charges work so my questions are:

1. Will they charge me what I have calculated above or will it be different ? ie Not the 3 hours of apparent "Fault Finding"

2. If they did try to charge me it do you think I should have to pay it considering the saga of the last 2 days?

Any opinions welcomed....

Sponsored Links
does seem a bit much

id say £50 call out and 1 hour to diagnose then 1 hour + parts the next day. although i dont agree with the call out charge in any case!

if they cant diagnose which bit it actually is assuming it is one one part required then it shouldn't be you paying for their learning experience.