DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

RCBO


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Albert

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Feb 2004
Posts: 700
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 7:32 am Reply with quote

when an RCBO trips, is there a simple way to find whether it was a current leakage or overload, or we have to run a comprehensive test?
Albert
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
Big_Spark

from United Kingdom

Joined: 20 Feb 2004
Posts: 3434
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 8:55 am Reply with quote

Albert wrote:
when an RCBO trips, is there a simple way to find whether it was a current leakage or overload, or we have to run a comprehensive test?
Albert


You need to get your test kit out Albert.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Albert

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Feb 2004
Posts: 700
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 10:52 am Reply with quote

FWL_Engineer wrote:

You need to get your test kit out Albert.


Oh damn it is too heavy...all the dust icon_wink.gif
Thanks
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ban-all-sheds

from United Kingdom

Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 47619
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1759 times

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 11:39 am Reply with quote

Not having RCBOs, I'd never thought about this. It would be a useful feature if the devices could have telltales to indicate why they tripped.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Albert

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Feb 2004
Posts: 700
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 11:55 am Reply with quote

ban-all-sheds wrote:
Not having RCBOs, I'd never thought about this. It would be a useful feature if the devices could have telltales to indicate why they tripped.


This days it is called 'whistleblower'... icon_lol.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Big_Spark

from United Kingdom

Joined: 20 Feb 2004
Posts: 3434
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 4:47 pm Reply with quote

ban-all-sheds wrote:
Not having RCBOs, I'd never thought about this. It would be a useful feature if the devices could have telltales to indicate why they tripped.


It would be good for those that know what their looking at, but for most everyday people it would go over their head....

The problem would be is you could only differentiate between overloads and faults in general, as any fault, except overload, will trip the RCD part of the RCBO (If you see what I mean), so you will actually be not a lot better off! icon_cry.gif

Shame as it would be helpful in commercial and industrial settings.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
plugwash

from United Kingdom

Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 8545
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 221 times

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 4:54 pm Reply with quote

the old mk 2 module rcbos did this (not that they are avilible anymore) and i'm sure i've seen other makes of 2 module rcbo with the leaver split into 2 parts to indicate how it should trip
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
plugwash

from United Kingdom

Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 8545
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 221 times

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 4:54 pm Reply with quote

i mean how it has tripped
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ban-all-sheds

from United Kingdom

Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 47619
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1759 times

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 5:06 pm Reply with quote

Plugwash - this isn't like the Other Place - here we have decent forum software to use, and if you make a mistake in your post, or just decide to go back and rewrite history, you can click on the "edit" button and make the changes. There is no need to do a second post correcting the first.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Big_Spark

from United Kingdom

Joined: 20 Feb 2004
Posts: 3434
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 6:03 pm Reply with quote

plugwash wrote:
the old mk 2 module rcbos did this (not that they are avilible anymore) and i'm sure i've seen other makes of 2 module rcbo with the leaver split into 2 parts to indicate how it should trip


Plug, they did this as the bits of kit doing the work were seperate, in an RCBO they have been combined.

But even in the old ones, the RCD tripping simply let you know it was not an overload.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Albert

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Feb 2004
Posts: 700
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Sat Apr 03, 2004 4:06 pm Reply with quote

I had a thought, (happens even to me..), that if we use a clampmeter to measure the current when the RCBO is on, it might give us an idea whether it is a current leakage or overcurrent according to the current level that was measured. Please don't shut me it is just an idea...could it work?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
BR

from Ireland

Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 334
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Sat Apr 03, 2004 4:33 pm Reply with quote

perhaps, if you had a meter with 'inrush' capability. but i fail to see the purpose. A megger or even continuity test will show up a 'current leakage'
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Albert

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Feb 2004
Posts: 700
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Sat Apr 03, 2004 4:54 pm Reply with quote

BR wrote:
perhaps, if you had a meter with 'inrush' capability. but i fail to see the purpose. A megger or even continuity test will show up a 'current leakage'

I don't know wether you read the messages above, the original question was about a simple way of identify the cause for a RCBO to trip, it could be overload current and/or current leake, without the need to disconnect and check the wires. the idea of using a clampmeter, is to put it around the wire coming to/from the RCBO and turn the RCBO on, a high current will indicate overload a low current will indicate current leakage. can this work if not could you explain why
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Big_Spark

from United Kingdom

Joined: 20 Feb 2004
Posts: 3434
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Sat Apr 03, 2004 5:07 pm Reply with quote

Albert, in theory you could do what your suggesting, in fact a small digital meter could be built into the RCD measuring the current on the CPC, if this rises the trigger level of the RCBO, then the dispay freezes at that level until reset.

If this display was on Zero, or below the trigger limit, then you know it is not an Earth fault.

I am not sure of the cost of incorportating this technology into an RCD/RCBO, it might make them too expensive and too cumbersome for one module in a board.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
RCD randomly tripping, replacing with RCBO's? 6 220 Thu Aug 18, 2011 10:01 am
mcb / rcbo 90 2740 Sat Aug 13, 2011 12:46 pm
GET rcbo - can't find any - any other brands fit? 2 120 Fri Jul 22, 2011 4:01 pm
RCBO question 17 440 Tue Jul 26, 2011 4:38 pm
Plugging an RCD into a cct already protected by an RCD/RCBO 26 520 Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:26 am


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.