17th edition regs, particularly gas and water bonding.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

I'm a posting newbie so please excuse me if I say anything odd!

We have just paid to have our house completely rewired but the electricians have done a really poor job.

We are at the beginning of trying to sort out all of the issues but i am uncertain about specific 17th edition regulations so would really appreciate some help...

Firstly they have left earth cables bare and not screwed them to metal backboxes of lightswitches saying the RCD is so quick, the cables don't need earthing. Is this right?
Secondly, they have joined a lighting feed with a piece of terminal block and just left it in the floor, with a bare earth cable again. Is this right? I didn't think you could leave a join in a cable so open to the elements!
Thirdly, they didn't bond the incoming gas and water pipes saying I didn't specifically ask for it. I didn't realise I had to ask - surely this is part of making a new electrical system in a house legal?

(These aren't the only issues, they did generally poor work - used holesaws that were too big for downlights, cut floorboards between joists, not on them, left us without 1 working light on the ground floor, amongst other issues still! - but they're the ones which I suspect don't meet the regs).

Can anyone tell me if bare cables, not terminating earth cables and omitting bonding meets 17th edition regs?

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
The metal back boxes need to be earthed, the screws are accessible hence are an exposed conductive part. If the front plate is earthed, the screw holes have an earthed ring in them and the back box is flush to the wall then the loop to the back box may be omitted (i.e. with sockets, FCUs, metal light switches but not with plastic light switches).
Earths should be shrouded with green/yellow at their terminations, all joints need to be in some sort of enclosure.