2004 GloWorm 30 Cxi leaking from Main Heat Exchanger

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Evening gentlemen,

Was just called out to a Glowworm 30 Cxi which was leaking water. The water is leaking out of the main heat exchanger. The owner said that he has also had problems with water leaking out of the condensate trap.

The boiler is only a couple of months out of warranty so i told him to contact the manufacturer first to see if they would sort him out (Im only new to the game and want to develop a name as a decent guy!!!!)

Anyway do anyone know the part number for this component and how much i should expect to pay?? Is this a relatively straighforward changeover and is there anything to look out for.

The guy had someone out who quoted him £400 for the heat exchanger and £300 to change. Basically tried to sell him a new boiler.

Amy help/advice would be much appreciated.

Cheers

Grill

Sponsored Links
Which bit of the heat exchanger is the water coming out off.

Is the pressure dropping?

Are you sure its not the condensate backing up.

Problem you will have trying to get new heat exchanger foc from glow worm is that they will probably want to take a water sample. if any probs with this they will blame faulty install/flush and walk away :rolleyes:

For future reference I would suggest that you choose which boiler manufacturer to use and stick to them keeping in contact with your local rep and let him know how many you fit etc. This way you will hopefully get favorable treatment from them if problems develop later ;)

To be honest i only had a breif glance at it tonight as i wa sin a hurry. Im really going on what the other said who was called out to see it.

Dont shout at me too loud!!!!

Grill

Sponsored Links
(Im only new to the game and want to develop a name as a decent guy!!!!)

excellent attitude.

To be honest i only had a breif glance at it tonight as i wa sin a hurry

You won't get a name as a"decent guy" by just having a brief glance.