3 Phase For Beginners! Help Needed!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey Everybody,

What a useful mine of knowledge this forum is! I hope someone can help with my problem...

Allow me to start by saying I'm not an electrician, so please don't be too technical with me!
I have recently acquired a 6kw 3 phase oven for baking jacket potatoes, as my partner and I wish to start a mobile catering business. The problem is, I bought this oven naively not knowing it was 3 phase, or even what that was (I'm learning but don't ask me to try and explain it!). Apparently it is supposed to be hard-wired in (according to websites I have found) but the people I got it off had it in a van and the cable has a big red 5-pin plug on the end, so I guess it must be portable to a certain extent, although it is huge and I have to move it around on a sack trolley as it has no permanent home yet! Basically I'd like to know how best to run the oven (or if I should even hang onto it) as everywhere I look it seems 3 phase is a pain to sort out and all references seem to be in regard to running motors and workshop equipment. As it is a 6kw oven, would it be possible to run off a converter/inverter, it's own generator, or something else? Or would it be possible to convert it to good old single phase which I could hook up anywhere?

Thanks In Advance

Martin

P.S. I'm sorry if this is a stupid question, but if you don't ask you don't learn!

Sponsored Links
Are you intending to run off the mains or a generator? Also, does it say anywhere in the manual whether it is suitable for use on single phase? It could just be a question of how it's wired up. Then again it might not.

A lot of mobile catering equipment such as this are gas powered. Thinking burger vans etc.

If you're running off mains power, you'll need a 3 phase outler nearby, only normally found on commercial and industrial premises. You'll also find them at fairgrounds, but these will be generator supplied.