3 planks of wood in loft

W

wycleff

Hi i have boarded my loft so we can use it just for a scalextric to be set up. The problem i have is there's 3 planks of wood from the roof to the floor down the middle they don't seem to be load bearing as there too thin. My question is what are they for? And can i take them away and put something else in instead?

Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_20161008_182631.jpg
    IMG_20161008_182631.jpg
    65.9 KB · Views: 249
Sponsored Links
I would leave them alone they look like they are forming your roof trusses into two triangles for strength, they may look thin but the don't need to be thick if they are in tension.

Thanks for the reply could i brace the triangles of the roof frame with a piece of joist across the top keeping the strength? Somebody told me they might be to support the joists of the ceiling below but they are too close to the supporting wall for that i would of thought.

I'm not an expert on structural timbers and roof trusses (I belong to one of those trades that merrily chop bits out to get our pipes through:whistle:) but I would leave them alone myself, hopefully another member can suggest an alternative.(y)

Sponsored Links
They are Hangers usually supporting Binders. Binders that keep the joists in plane.

Why they've been dropped in such positions is impossible to know without exposing below the ply flooring to see what and how they are connected to?
Until you know more leave them alone as suggested above.

FWIW: You appear to have two roof windows (Velux?) - they have not been correctly trimmed in with double framing - this could lead to roof sag.
You should get the chimney stack flashings inspected.

A local joiner on site could give you some advice.

Thanks for the reply we have just had a roofing company strip and redo the whole roof they fitted the velux and pointed the chimney and there's new flashing around the chimney. Can i ask why you asked me to get my chimney flashing inspected? Thanks