3 Port Valve problems

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All this is my first post so go easy!!

My central heating system is a conventional open tank jobby with hot water cylinder with a 3 port mid position valve, room thermostat and cylinder stat with a Siemens RWB9 programmable controller.

For years when i selected HW the radiators got hot too. I got cheesed off with this, so i bought a new 3 port valve :- Honeywell V4073A Motorised Mid-Position.

I electrically isolated the system (i'm a qualified electrician) and drained down the hot water and radiators and fitted the valve and wired it .I also added some system cleaner into the header tank (i have a feeling this bit was wrong)
Radiators all filled and bled, HW de-isolated.
Now when i first fired up the system HW only the system was working correctly and the CH port was still cold but today it's hot again with the HW on heating the radiators!!! Have I maybe got some dirt trapped in the ball of the valve do you think from the cleaner or dirt from the header tank??
There is also a gate valve 22mm coming from the bottom of the cylinder I closed this in when I was taking out the valve, I have opened this again fully but i did not know the original position of this. I have read today somewhere else this may be a balancing valve to the heating coil?

Any help would be greatly appreciated :D

Slipperz

Sponsored Links
The balancing valve sounds like bypass valve which needs to be closed as not required with a 3 port. Whilst the hot water is selected check what voltage you are getting on the white wire.

Nath

The balancing valve sounds like bypass valve which needs to be closed as not required with a 3 port. Whilst the hot water is selected check what voltage you are getting on the white wire.

Nath

Thanks for the reply Nath.

The white wire - is at 6v to N / E with HW selected

The gate valve comes off the bottom of the cylinder and disappears down stairs (22mm)

Regards

Slipperz