5 out of 9 radiators in house not working.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all,

I am having quite the issue with the central heating in a house I recently moved into.

Upon moving in we have had this problem, unfortunately I have no background on what work was done prior to me getting the house.

There are 9 radiators in the house, 5 upstairs and 4 downstairs. 3 of the radiators work upstairs and 1 works downstairs. The ones that work are piping hot, the ones that don't are stone cold.
The house has an extension where one radiator upstairs as no air or water coming out of it when bled. All the other radiators give water when bled.

The 3 way valve was broken when I moved in so I replaced the whole unit. Some rad valves were weeping ever so slightly so they have been replaced.
After changing the 3 way valve and rad valves its still exactly the same.
2 of the rads that don't get hot (1 up and 1 down) the pipes to the feed valve will get ever so slightly warm when the hot water is on as well as the heating.
Aside from that I have bled the pump (which seems to be working fine) changed the speed of the pump to max, tried balancing the rads and tried turning all the working rads off to see if i can force the heat to the no working ones. Nothing.

A lot of gurgling happens when I change the pump speeds which suggest trapped air, but I cant for the life of me find it though bleeding all the radiators.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks

Sponsored Links
Do they have Thermostatic valves? have you tried checking the valves are openning properly (ans also the return)?
If the flow gets warm but not the rad then the blockage is in the valve/rad
Are there any inline valves closed?
Do the cold rads release water when bled?

This does sound like air, I'd be tempted to bleed them when the system isn't running. And bleed a lot out (e.g. a couple of pints from each rad)