Air vent in boiler cupboard

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am a novice and also a newbie on DIYnot so apolgies for any procedural errors (please let me know) and would muc appreciate advice from oneof you experts.

I have a Potterton Flamingo 50 in a cupboard in a conservatory which is an extension at the back of the house. I have a service agreement with British Gas. On a recent inspection they told me that to conform with regs I need a lower vent on the door of the boiler cupboard. I got one fitted but on thir next visit the B/Gas engineer told me that it was much too small. The vent I have is around 24 cm sq and has 24 vents each about 10cm x .5cm, ie 120 sq cm air space. B/Gas say I need 361 sq cm free air space. I calculate this to mean that I need an air vent around 60 cm sq.

Are B/Gas correct? If not can you direct me to a suitable section of the regs that cover this? If they're correct, where can I get a vent of suitable size and can I then fit this to a door of 74 cm width?

Many thanks for your help, comments or questions.

Sponsored Links
.......in case you don't know, Open flued means a 100mm diameter round flue going upwards, and room sealed means a big squarish flue going out sideways through the wall.

getting a louver door is probably your best bet. To completely comply the slats in the louver should be 5-10mm.
(Assuming of course its an open flued boiler, and not BG being a bit over the top :D )

Sponsored Links
getting a louver door is probably your best bet. To completely comply the slats in the louver should be 5-10mm.
(Assuming of course its an open flued boiler, and not BG being a bit over the top :D )

"purpose provided and labelled ventilation must be provided." Thats not a louvered door!

"purpose provided and labelled ventilation must be provided." Thats not a louvered door!