Alarm for new house

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Gutting my new house and thought I might get an alarm installed while I've all the plaster etc ripped off the walls.

I have no idea about alarms or what make to go for and what ones to avoid so looking for some advice. Texecom and Galaxy seem to get a few mentions on here.

Basically I'd be after an alarm with 3 sensors for downstairs and something for the front door. I presume you wouldn't put a sensor in the hallway as any post coming through the letter box would set it off.

Also prefer it to be hard wired. I don't know if I should be looking to add everything else onto it or if I've missed something? Maybe have text alerts?

If I'm putting one in I'd like a half decent one but don't want to go over the top moneywise.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
i'm not an expert, but i'll throw my tuppence worth in......

if you get a texecom panel, go for one of their veritas ones. veritas should be enough for a home system.

don't make the mistake i made and get one of their premier range of panels. those are really for factories / offices / shops etc.

there are 5 veritas panels and one of them should cater for your needs.

i can't say too much more as i'm not experienced enough in the field.

you can help others answer your question by telling us your budget and what you really want from the system.

do you really want the internet connection and texting to your mobile phone when break-ins occur?

do you really want to pay for an outside company to monitor your alarm system? as a very rough guide, this would cost about £30 a month.

a basic system, panel + few pirs + bellbox, might cost around £350.

if you GAMI (get a man in) to do the wiring and setting up, you'll have to pay for their time.

just remember one thing, an alarm system is a deterrent. if someone wants to break in, then no alarm system will stop him/her.