Alpha 240x combi boiler cutting out

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
This is an Alpha 240 x combi, the symptoms are, the burner comes on, for say, 5 secs, either for DHW or heating, and then goes out, then almost immediately, in about 1 or 2 secs, comes back on again. It might stay burning for 20 secs, but then goes off and restarts quickly.
I'm a computer tech, happy rewiring houses, but little experience on boilers, and I don't mess with the gas side of things
I get the feeling the on/ off cycle is too quick for it to be water temp. related? happy to hear from anyone with more experience, thanks in advance. I can check voltages and read the diagram
Ian

Sponsored Links
I expect its gas related so no advice from me other then fan/vent/APS.

Tony

Thanks Tony, I will see what the APS is doing. took me a bit of reseach to find that "APS"is a Differential air pressure switch, certainly would explain the symtoms

Sponsored Links
I went to a boiler repair yesterday where the installer had suspected the APS because the on board diagnostics showed that. He then blew into the APS to totally spoil it.

He then replaced the APS and of course the boiler still did not work! By then he had spent about six hours on it so he gave up.

The Owner was most sceptical when I came along all smiles and "will soon have it going again for you". He said "I am impressed by your confidence" in a rather disbelieving way!

When I had it working a short while later he was most amazed as he clearly had not expected that I would be able to repair it. I just replied "its what I do all the time".

Tony

While you are waiting for MI's
Have a look into your flue to make sure it hasn't fallen apart inside.
Then check out CH temp sensor [if it has one]

Ian, have you made any progress with your fault on the boiler? I too have an Ocean Alpha 240E which is doing the same burn for a few seconds, cut out, restart, repeat, type behavior.