Boiler problem, worcester 26CDI XTRA, help please

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have had a problem with my boiler for over a year now, just been putting up with it really. As far as i know it seems to work ok but for this problem, pressure ok, i am an electrician so i am willing to fix it myself, just need to know what might be wrong please.
When having a shower (combi boiler- i have no cylinder) the water will come through hot after about 3 minutes, and will only last hot around 5 minutes, then will go ice cold for about 3 minutes then will come back on hot for about 5 minutes........
this goes on and it is really a pain in the arse!! it just keeps going hot cold hot cold hot cold, and so on.
Could it be a stat or valve or something?
please help.
thanks

Sponsored Links
could be scale, thermistor,diverter valve. would need far more info to make a proper diagnosis.

these are not the easiest of boilers to work on. some professionals will not even go near them so you might be on a hiding to nothing trying to fix it yourself. you may be better off caling worcester for a fixed fee repair with a warranty on it.

edit. the most important question i forgot to ask was does it do the same on all of your taps as well? if not it is probably the shower stat that is faulty.

could be scale, thermistor,diverter valve. would need far more info to make a proper diagnosis.

these are not the easiest of boilers to work on. some professionals will not even go near them so you might be on a hiding to nothing trying to fix it yourself. you may be better off caling worcester for a fixed fee repair with a warranty on it.
Thanks for the reply, its out of warranty, i do live in a very hard water area...
please ask for any info to try to narrow it down?

well a few things to check.....

heating off, pipes as cool as possible.