Boilermate 2000 terminated replacement advice please.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi . I'm having to terminate my boilermate 2000 as its leaking from the front.

As far as I know the replacement model is the BM BP but as I understand this model doesnt support a heating flow return the way the 2000 did.

The new set up would have the central heating flow/return fed from the small boiler downstairs and have a tee off to supply the cylinder for hot water .

Bare with me I'm an electrician so not quite getting my head round this .

The problem I face is that the potterton suprima which currently feeds the 2000 is only a small 40L boiler . My plumber doesnt think this is sufficient to do the new job .

The small potterton only has flow/return to cylinder

The cuboard with the 2000 has no gas but all other pipework including CH Flow return.

Another plumber I know recommends changing to a 38kw combi , but this would involve alterating the gas pipes and fluing out the roof.

Can someone please recommend my best option ?

The house has 9 rads , mixer shower , mixer bath , 4 basins , WM and DW.

The bath is not used that much but the shower we currently have has great pressure and instant hot water , we we would like to maintain that .

As far as I know miller homes fitted this set up in lots of new builds so I'm keen to hear if anyone has installed a new system.

Sorry for long post and thank you in advance for any advice .

Jamie (Glasgow)

Sponsored Links
usually switch to an unvented hot water system, but you need to check if the boiler will be sufficient to heat the radiators. I would try and avoid Gledhill thermalstores, they're absolute junk.

Hi

Bare with me I'm an electrician so not quite getting my head round this .

Jamie (Glasgow)

That means to take off your clothes! Probably not what you intended.

I expect you wanted to say "bear" with me!

I might be missing something here but why not
replace the thermal store you have with another one?